top of page
Writer's pictureMalaysian Pureblood

Sad I am

I was born with curly golden locks of hair and skin so very fair, landing right into the softest and warmest hands that held me. I looked up to see the vast cosmos of stars in her twinkling eyes and the smile that tasted like honey lit up her face. She hugged me tighter.


I was named Azul the doll, because of my sky-coloured frock and I came to learn that her name was Beth. Ever since the day I met her, Beth never allowed me to leave her side. We would study and dine together, go on long walks by the beach and cuddle each other to sleep. I knew of all her sorrows and the tears she shed, all her joy and the excitement she felt. I was having the best life I could ever ask for. That was until the first explosion.


“Beth! Run!” someone screamed after the deafening blast struck my ears. Beth and I, halfway through reading, startled from our seats as a fiery flash of red streaked past the window and another boom rattled the house. The hustling of voices grew louder while Beth grabbed me and ran for the door.


Outside, people were in hysterics. Shrieking and crying, they raced past us. We ran through a blanket of smoke with flames licking the air. My vision blurred, the ringing in my ears threatened to overwhelm me and the air tasted like metal and burning flesh. Clutching me, Beth squeezed and slammed her way through the throng. I could hear her ragged breaths and uncontrolled coughing when something black and round like a ball flew into the dirt in front of us. Crash! Flames, heat, burns and I was spiraled away from Beth’s grasp.


When I came to, all was grey. Flecks of ash tickled my eyes and my baby blue dress was torn and coated with dust. I was lying on the freezing asphalt, which seemed so unfamiliar compared to Beth’s cosy hugs. For the first time in my life, I could not see her. I wondered where she was off to, and am still wondering now.


I have no perception of time, but it has been quite a while since we last met. I tried calling out but my voice never seemed to work, tears never came although the fear and forlorn crushed my heart. Here I lie in wait, for the moment when Beth will pick me up and cuddle me once more. Here I lie, though the waiting has been long. Here I lie, and here I shall be found. 



 

90 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


marisachongmh
03 sept 2020

Hey Jeslyn long time no see but I LOVE YOUR WRITING SO MUCH😍 idk if you know who this is but seriously you inspire me

Me gusta
bottom of page