top of page
Writer's pictureMalaysian Pureblood

Flooding with Kindness

Updated: Aug 16, 2019

I once thought kindness was what only saints could achieve, definitely not something that manifested in our daily lives, weaving itself it and out of our most simple and drastic actions. That was, until the great flood which hit Penang in November 2017.


Rain was pouring down in buckets and I was just getting out of my bath. That was when my parents and I realised water seeping into our porch. Overwhelmed with panic and trepidation, we quickly salvaged whatever belongings we managed to squeeze into our bags and huddled together in the wall separating our house from our neighbour's, waiting for rescue. Just as the water rose up to our waists, a sudden beam of light leaped in front of our eyes. A rescue boat was just a few houses away.



We shrieked and screamed to get their attention. A sampan (boat) was then pushed in our direction by People's Volunteer Corps (Rela) personnel donning fluorescent safety jackets. After helping us into the boat, they manually pushed and navigated it along the flooded street, stopping by some houses to take in a few more flood victims.


Through the raging storm our team of volunteers persevered. The water had risen to above waist level but our three saviours were like heroes who had nothing to fear. They kept a steady pace, braving the rain that pelted down like bullets. Along the journey to higher ground, the volunteer on my right had a sudden cramp in his leg. I saw him wince in pain and then fix his face as if nothing had happened, and continued pushing forward.


Not long after, we came to a bridge where the sampan could go no further. As we clambered down from the boat into the inky water, a chill shot up my spine, burning through my bones. Only then did I realise just how cold the water was. Amazement, awe and appreciation for the volunteers bubbled in my heart. I only had time to say a simple ‘thank you’ to them before they set off for their next rescue. Watching their backs receding, I could never have felt more touched and grateful for their kindness.


Around us, more volunteers and boats and victims of the flood were arriving. My family and I linked hands as we fought our way through the frigid water and finally up onto dry land, which was a coffee shop. The hunched-back manager of the coffee shop welcomed us and pulled out some chairs for us to rest our rain-battered bodies. As I was served with hot drinks, I watched unfamiliar refugees exchange consoles, supportive smiles and pats on each others' back to show that we were all in this together. It felt like we were strangers turned into family.


My parents and I were waiting for my uncle to fetch us to his house when a muffled scream rang out. A woman who was trying to reach the coffee shop misstepped and fell into a deep drain that was concealed underwater. Fortunately, a nearby man immediately threw himself into the water and helped her up to dry land.


Heaving a sigh of relief, I saw my uncle wading through the water to us. We joined hands as he guided us, drenched in water, to his car parked far away from our shelter. At long last, we came to his car and got into it, soaking the cushions with filthy water. We finally hit the sack at 2 a.m. in my uncle's warm house.


Lying on the mattress on the floor, I bit down a sharp wave of grief and sorrow. Despite our misfortune, I could not help but ponder about the people who turned from strangers into heroes. The volunteers who sacrificed their strength, the coffee shop manager who provided us shelter, the fearless man plunging into the water to save a life. Not to mention, my dearest family that gave us a home. These are kindness beyond words, and I am more than grateful to have experienced it.


In the next few weeks that concerned cleaning and refurnishing our house that was submerged in shoulder-level water, more aid came our way. We received generous donations from numerous associations while relatives and friends got together to assist us mentally and physically.


Looking back on the flood reminds me of kindness that comes in various manners. It could be in the form of a word of comfort, a physical action or a facial expression that lightens your mood.


American cartoonist Scott Adams once said, “There’s no such thing as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” Having been touched by true kindness, I pledge to pass it on as long as I have the strength to do so.


Remember, be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.


 
38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page